The Maclean Chiefs

A Scottish chief stands at the head of his clan and represented not only his clansmen but also its first chief. Maclean Chiefs trace their hereditary line back to first recognized Chief, Gilleain na Tuaighe, in 1174. The rural nature of Scotland’s Highlands, particularly the Western Isles, allowed the Maclean Chiefs to operate and govern with relative autonomy for centuries. Historically the most important responsibilities of Maclean Chiefs were to rule, judge and lead the clan in battle, however the Maclean Chiefs were also influential characters in the politics of the Western Highlands of Scotland who wielded great authority.

Although still recognized in Scottish law, following the ‘45 Uprising the Heritable Jurisdictions Act of 17461 effectively ended the rights and jurisdiction that made Scotland’s clans a functioning society. No longer imbued with authority, the title of chief remains a dignity enshrined in Scottish law, which continues to recognize the chief as head of the clan and lawful representative of the community; and the clan remains a noble communities recognized by the sovereign.2 Today the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs is regarded as the sovereign’s hereditary advisers. The Maclean Chiefs have continued to play important roles in national government while leading a clan that has grown into a world-wide family firmly rooted in tradition and kinship.

At present Sir Lachlan Maclean is the Maclean Chief.

1210 Gilleain na Tuaighe

1263 Malise mac Gilleain

1300 Malcolm mac Giliosa

c 1320 John Dubh mac Gillemore

c 1365 Lachlan Lùbanach Maclean

1405 Hector Ruadh Maclean

1411 Lachlan Bronneach Maclean

c 1472 Lachlan Og Maclean

c 1478 Hector Odhar Maclean

1496 Lachlan Maclean

1513 Lachlan Cattanach Maclean

1523 Hector Mór Maclean

1568 Hector Og Maclean

1573 Lachlan Mor Maclean

1598 Hector Og Maclean

1618 Hector Mor Maclean

1630 Lachlan Maclean

1648 Hector Maclean

1651 Allan Maclean

1674 John Maclean

1716 Hector Maclean

1750 Allan Maclean

1783 Hector Maclean

1818 Fitzroy Jeffreys Grafton Maclean

1847 Charles Fitzroy Maclean

1883 Fitzroy Donald Maclean

1936 Charles Hector Fitzroy Maclean

1990 Lachlan Hector Charles Maclean

  1. Heritable Jurisdictions (Scotland) Act 1746″. Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain. 20 Geo. II (c. 43). 1746. ↩︎
  2. “What is a clan?”. Court of the Lord Lyon. Archived from the original on 17 January 2008. ↩︎